Skip to main content
Algolia stores analytics data on dedicated servers, separate from the indices. Algolia collects analytics data in parallel with search, in a separate process. This means collecting analytics never slows down search. Indices and analytics are separate data sets. Because of this, copying, moving, or deleting an index doesn’t affect the analytics data. Algolia refers to analytics data by the name of its index. This link never changes.

Effect of renaming indices on analytics

Changing the name of an index doesn’t change the name of the index’s analytics. The analytics belonging to the original index keep their original name. Algolia starts a new set of analytics under the new name. The old and new analytics aren’t merged. To preserve an index’s analytics history, you need to keep using the old name. For more information, see Copy and move (rename) indices.

Effect of deleting indices on analytics

Deleting an index doesn’t delete the index’s analytics. The analytics data remains available under the deleted index’s name. You can use the index’s name to export the analytics data using the Analytics API. For more information, see Delete indices

Copying an index

Copying an index doesn’t copy its analytics data.
Be careful if you copy over an existing index. The analytics data stays linked to the index’s name.
For more information, see Copy and move (rename) indices.
Last modified on September 16, 2026